Adore – VisDare

Unfortunately, it’s been about a week and a half since I’ve done any writing, much less put anything up here for the world to see. There are a myriad of reasons for that, ranging somewhere between being busy with great things and people and getting down to a place where even words weren’t coming out. There are the first beginnings of autumn here, though, so here’s hoping the cooler weather can help me keep up good habits.

This week, barely, I did manage to catch the Visual Dare prompt. It’s a great picture, and again, I’d love to know more about what’s going on in it. Since I don’t know that story, I’ll just have to make up my own, as usual.

Happy woman with flowers

This afternoon, I saw an old man giving flowers to an older woman on the street corner. He looked at her with such love and affection, hands shaking as he handed her the bouquet. Her eyes, downcast from the burdens of a lifetime full of strife, lit with the delight of a schoolgirl. He touched her cheek with the tenderness of a new lover, seeing clearly the love he had proposed to on that same street long before and still adored. Time had given them both wrinkles, and taken the color from their hair, yet despite all that, she remained his dearest love. After all the life that they had shared, he craved seeing her golden smile just once more, in case it’s the last time.

As I thought about the bickering that I’d done with my love, over little things, I turned around and walked into the flower store.

Leave a Reply

