Flowers – #FSF

This week had a wonderful prompt from Lillie’s Five Sentence Fiction. Where I’m at right now the summertime is a dry place, despite record rainfall in many places of the US. The most common color in my daily travels is khaki brown. To see the computer screen explode with color is very nice, and makes me wistful for seasons past, as well as hopeful for seasons to come.

Wildflowers

All care had been taken on the picnic with my love, from her favorite sandwiches to a rich chocolate desert. Every perfect bit spread out on a comfortable blanket at the edge of a field of springtime flowers in every color. The scene is perfectly set for me to ask her to be my partner for the rest of our lives, waiting for her arrival. The hours since the time she was expected pass slowly, and the flowers ripple in the wind like a sea of color. As the sun sets, I light the candles, certain that she will still come.

Leave a Reply

